Hashnode Weekly 003 by Miki Szeles

Hashnode Weekly 003 by Miki Szeles

Β·

11 min read

It is Saturday again, so as you might already be got used to it, it is time to post my curated list of Hashnode articles from this week. Ups, it is Sunday. Sorry for the delay but I was writing my summary about my first month on Hashnode and it takes time as it is a little bit longer. According to Hashnode, it is 20 minutes read, but I have not finished yet. In case you do not want to miss it, just follow me, so you will get notified! 😊

This time I brought 42 awesome articles for you on various topics.

πŸ† My top pick this week is Project Planet which is an awesome initiative to make Earth a better place. Project Planet is a solution with which you can connect charity organizations with people who would like to participate in making the world a better place. There are so many people who would like to help, but they do not know where and how. This project is the perfect solution for that. Read the introduction article here: Project Planet: An initiative to make the earth a better place for living. πŸ§‘πŸŒπŸŒŽπŸŒπŸ‘­πŸ‘©πŸΌβ€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸΌπŸ‘©πŸ½β€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸ½πŸ‘©πŸΎβ€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸ½πŸ‘©πŸΏβ€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸΌπŸ‘©πŸΏβ€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸΏπŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ€β€πŸ§‘πŸΌπŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ€β€πŸ§‘πŸΏπŸ‘©πŸΌβ€πŸ€β€πŸ§‘πŸ½πŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸ»πŸ‘©πŸ½β€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸ»πŸ‘©πŸΎβ€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸ»πŸ‘©πŸΎβ€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸΎπŸ‘©πŸΏβ€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸ½πŸ‘«πŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ€β€πŸ§‘πŸ½πŸ‘©πŸΌβ€πŸ€β€πŸ§‘πŸ»πŸ‘©πŸΌβ€πŸ€β€πŸ§‘πŸΎπŸ‘©πŸΌβ€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸ»πŸ‘©πŸ½β€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸΌπŸ‘©πŸΎβ€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸΌπŸ‘©πŸΏβ€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸ»πŸ‘©πŸΏβ€πŸ€β€πŸ‘©πŸΎπŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ€β€πŸ§‘πŸ»πŸ‘©πŸ»β€πŸ€β€πŸ§‘πŸΎπŸ‘©πŸΌβ€πŸ€β€πŸ§‘πŸΌπŸ‘©πŸΌβ€πŸ€β€πŸ§‘πŸΏπŸŒπŸŒŽπŸŒπŸ§‘

The other contestants of the week are equally awesome so please continue reading.

Blogging, Writing, Journaling

πŸ†My top pick from this week is - Alberto Bonacina's How to monetize your blog on Hashnode. I am also trying to monetize my blog. Up till now, I had to unsuccessful trial, but I will never give up.

In the long run, I would like to earn enough money from (technical) writing to not depend on my daily job. Not because I want to give up my current job, as I really love software development, but because I would like to have a better balance between family time, writing and software development.

Software Development and Technology

πŸ† My favourite from this category is Devhouse's What's it like to be a woman working in tech? writing. They are talking about a very important topic:

Women in Tech.

At the company DMG MORI HEITEC Digital Kft. which I work for there are 4 PMs in our room, from which 3 are women, and there are also women in development and IT support and of course HR.

It is quite great compared to the ratio we had at the university 20 years ago. We had 13 girls from 800 students. We even had a joke about that:

How many girls are living in the SchΓΆnherz student hostel?

  • ???
  • 1024
  • ???
  • Two on the 10th. 😊

Let's see the other contestants of the software development section:

Contributing to the open-source community is a very profitable thing to do. However I did not contribute to any of the existing open-source projects up till now, but I have my own open-source projects.

At the moment I am developing another Chrome extension with which I can speed up writing my weekly newsletter and whenever it will become accepted in the Chrome Web Store I will share it with the Hashnode community. It would be awesome to ready your own unique newsletter. . Follow me in case you do not want to miss it. 😊

Show me your newsletter and I will tell you who you are.😊

The S in IoT stands for security. 😊

Data Analysis, Science and Machine Learning

My featured article is Amr Khaled' article in this category. Amr Khaled wrote an excellent introduction to Data Analysis in his article Intro To Data Analysis.

As you might already know I also started my adventure in the field of Data Analysis which I document here on Hashnode. In case you are interested in how I started my journey read my article My Adventures in The Field of Data Science - The backstory.

I am personally interested in machine learning as I started a course at my alma mater institute Budapest University of Economics and Technology(BME) about the topic.

You can read Vinayak's article here: Introduction to Machine Learning and some basic terminology

Self-improvement, Productivity, Psychology, Mentoring

πŸ†My top pick from this category is Marcin Wosinek's How to speed up your progress with feedback article. I can highly relate to this. In my opinion, feedback is everything.

Fast feedback is crucial not just for developers but also for anybody who works. Interesting backstory: I have learnt that doctors who analyze x-ray of patients diagnosed with cancer do not really improve in the analysis as there is no feedback loop for them. Only after several months, does it become clear the stadium of the patient and this info is not piped back to the doctors. But let's get back to our original topic. I have feedback loops on multiple levels.

  • In my daily work we conduct code reviews and sometimes pair programming. I am working as an SDET so whenever I write a test I try it immediately, so I have immediate feedback.
  • I drink coffee daily with my friend who is the test manager and we provide feedback for each other mostly about soft skills.
  • I write technical articles and post them, so that is also a great opportunity for getting feedback.
  • I contribute to the open-source community with multiple test related projects. It can be also a good way for getting feedback, but up till now, I have not received much. You can check my projects at: github.com/mszeles

  • Diego Ballesteros participated in 20 developer coffee chats in a single weekend. I cannot wait to read his upcoming articles in which he will share the most important highlights of these coffee chats. Follow him in case you do not want to miss this valuable series. You can read his article here: My experience after doing 20 Coffee Chats in one weekend

  • Adaobi Okonkwo created an excellent project. Quoting his words "A global platform that helps students, young professionals, and career experts make the connections they need to drive professional development, career progression, and leadership skills.". I highly recommend reading his article Welcome to MentorTown!.
  • Muhammad Hasnain's article about Burnout is highly recommended.

I was in the same shoes in the last 5 years. I worked with outdated technologies on an outdated project without any pleasure or feeling of achievement. I had zero feedback about my work. However, I was not underpaid but there were serious delays with salaries regularly which kept me under constant stress as I had to take care of my wife and son.

In addition to burnout, I seriously felt I was the worst programmer in the world despite doing programming since my childhood. I not just burnt out but I was the perfect exemplar of the impostor syndrome. It caused me years of depression.

This is the last week of my probation period at my new company. We will continue working together as I really like basically everything about the company. **The team, the product, the tech stack and also the opportunities for improvements. We have weekly one on one sessions with my team manager where we give feedback to each other, and last but not least I can work together with my friend which is invaluable**.

I also wrote a very long story of my own, which is quite similar to yours, but up till now, I was not brave enough to post it. 😊

SEO

πŸ†My top pick is Jym Cheong article and not just because there is no other post in this category this time, but also because of his writing How to add Google Analytics & submit Hashnode blog for indexing? is great. Luckily Hashnode excels in SEO, but in order to appear in search results as fast as possible, you have to submit your URLs on the different search engines.

Newcomers

Helping newcomers to start building their audience is a topic very close to my heart. This is why I have a dedicated section in the newsletter for them.

  • Ranojit Kumar(blog.ranojit.com/hello-world). Well, he was a little bit shy, so up till now I do not know what he will be posting about, but I asked him in a comment, so hopefully, he will answer soon. 😊
  • Peter Havlena was as shy as Ranojit so I also asked him about which topics he will write about. 😊 Check his introduction after a few days, I am pretty sure he will answer my question. Welcome!
  • [redacted] (Sinkidonk) wrote his first blogpost First Post, Beginning. We can expect him posts about Rasbbery Pi, Rust and other topic.
  • Nephi Asha also a newcomer. Read her introduction and say some encouraging words to him/her: Welcome to my Blog. He/she is a JavaScript developer from Nigeria and an owner of a YouTube channel.

What was your favourite Hashnode article you read recently? Share it in the comments!πŸ‘

Happy reading!😊

Share this article, in case you would like to read more Hashnode Weekly posts from me.😊

In case you do not want to miss my posts, just follow me here on Hashnode, on LinkedIn, on Twitter on Medium.com, on dev.to and even on Instagram. 😊

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Miki Szeles by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

Β